The open-source password manager with the most generous free tier in the category; a 2026 price rise and form-only support are the trade-offs.
By Brand Verdicts research deskLast updated October 2026Security & privacy
B+
8.4/10
Quality8.4
Value8.9
Service6.1
Policies8.0
Transparency9.0
BUY
Scorecard
Why B+: Unlimited passwords on unlimited devices for nothing, open code, a real 30-day refund and published compliance reports. Support by contact form only and a clunkier interface keep it off the top grade.
Criterion
Score /10
Weight
Product quality
8.4
30%
Value
8.9
25%
Customer service
6.1
15%
Returns & policies
8.0
15%
Transparency
9.0
15%
Overall
8.4
derived
Overall is the weighted mean of the five rows, adjusted by a small slug-seeded offset so that brands never line up in a false staircase, and capped at 9.8. Full working on the Methodology page (v2.1).
What the research shows
The Free plan stores unlimited passwords on unlimited devices, includes passkeys and Bitwarden Send, and allows sharing with one other person. Nothing forces an upgrade.
Premium rose in early 2026 from $10 a year to $19.80; Families went from $40 to $47.88 a year for six people. Both remain the cheapest paid tiers among major rivals.
Bitwarden’s own help page offers a refund on any subscription under 30 days old, and the terms promise 30 days’ notice of price changes.
There is no live chat or phone line. Support runs through a contact form, the help center and a community forum; paid users get priority handling.
Bitwarden cannot reset a lost master password. Without emergency access or an organization admin, the only option is deleting the account and starting again.
What you are buying
Bitwarden is a password manager from Bitwarden Inc., based in Santa Barbara, California. Its client code is open source and publicly audited, which is the main reason security-minded users pick it. Personal plans are Free, Premium and Families (six users). Business plans are Teams and Enterprise, with custom pricing above that. A separate Secrets Manager stores API keys and machine credentials for developers. The apps cover browsers, desktop and mobile, and the vault can be hosted in Bitwarden’s US or EU cloud or self-hosted by organizations on the Enterprise plan. The product suits people who value open code and low cost over polish: the interface is functional rather than friendly, and the company assumes a user willing to read documentation.
The products, scored
6 items. Each chip is a per-product call and can differ from the brand verdict.
Free plan BUY
The reason most people arrive. The pricing page says “Always free” and lists unlimited passwords and devices, apps for every platform, passkey management, encrypted export, Bitwarden Send for sharing text or files, and sharing with one other user. Paid features absent here are the built-in authenticator, file attachments, emergency access and vault health reports. Everyone gets email support; paid users are prioritized. For a single person moving off a browser’s built-in password store this is the strongest free offer from any major brand, and there is no time limit or device cap to push you to pay.
StrengthUnlimited items and devices with no trial clock
WeaknessNo emergency access, so a lost master password means a lost vault
Listed at $1.65 a month, billed annually at $19.80 (USD, taxes extra). That is nearly double the old $10 a year, a change announced in January 2026 alongside vault health alerts, password coaching, 5 GB of attachment storage and support for up to 10 hardware security keys. The integrated TOTP authenticator is the most useful addition because it removes a separate app. Emergency access lets a trusted contact request entry to your vault after a waiting period. Even at the new price it costs well under half of most rivals’ individual plans, though long-time users have reason to grumble.
StrengthAuthenticator, emergency access and 5 GB storage for under $20 a year
WeaknessPrice nearly doubled in 2026 for features many will not use
Six Premium accounts for $3.99 a month, billed annually at $47.88. Each member gets the full Premium feature set, plus unlimited sharing and collections and 5 GB of shared family storage on top of personal storage. Per head it is the cheapest family password plan from a major brand. The weakness is administration: there is no organizer-led password reset for family members, so a relative who forgets their master password depends on emergency access having been set up in advance. Set that up on day one and this is the plan to buy for a household.
StrengthSix full Premium accounts for less than $48 a year
WeaknessNo family-admin password reset; emergency access must be configured beforehand
$4 per user a month on annual billing. Adds organization ownership of shared credentials, event logs, directory sync and SCIM provisioning, which is more admin tooling than small-business tiers from rivals usually include at this price. A free trial is offered from the pricing page. It suits a small company that wants shared vaults and an audit trail without paying enterprise rates. The admin console is dense and the documentation assumes some IT knowledge, so a business without anyone technical should budget time for setup rather than expect a guided onboarding.
StrengthEvent logs and SCIM provisioning at a small-business price
WeaknessAdmin console assumes IT knowledge; little hand-holding
$6 per user a month on annual billing, with a 14-day trial. Adds granular access controls, passwordless SSO, enterprise policies, the option to self-host, and a free Families plan for every employee. The compliance page states SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3 and ISO 27001 certification plus annual HIPAA audits, which shortens procurement. It is good value against rivals’ enterprise pricing. The desk marks it CONSIDER because Bitwarden’s support model for business is less visible than its features: the public contact page offers a form and a sales link, and the response times an IT team would want written down are not published.
StrengthSelf-hosting option and published SOC 2 and ISO 27001 certification
WeaknessNo published support response times on the public contact page
A separate product for developers and DevOps teams that stores API keys, database credentials and SSH keys and injects them into pipelines. The free tier covers up to two users, three projects and three machine accounts. Teams is listed at $6 per user a month and Enterprise at $12, both billed annually, and the higher tier adds SSO, SCIM and self-hosting. It is open source like the password manager. The catch is that it is billed separately from the password manager plans, so a team wanting both pays twice, where some rivals fold basic secrets tooling into their main subscription.
StrengthUsable free tier for small projects; open source
WeaknessBilled separately from password manager seats
Digital only; apps for browsers, desktop and mobile download free
Returns
Refund on request if the subscription is under 30 days old
Warranty / guarantee
Not stated; price held for the paid term, 30 days’ notice of changes
Support
Contact form, help center and community forum; no live chat or phone
Payment options
Not stated on pricing page; prices in USD, taxes extra
Subscription / cancellation
Annual, renews automatically; cancel in web vault, reverts to Free at term end
Values are short phrases taken from the brand's own pages at the time of the last update. "Not stated" means the desk could not find the policy in writing.
Watch-outs
A forgotten master password cannot be reset by Bitwarden. Unless emergency access or organization account recovery was set up beforehand, the vault and everything in it are gone.
Premium and Families prices rose sharply in 2026, and several recent Trustpilot reviewers describe the change and related billing handling as underhand.
Recent Trustpilot reviews complain of slow support and difficulty cancelling, and the profile shows almost no company replies to negative reviews.
Review themes
Bitwarden’s reputation splits by venue. On Apple’s App Store it holds 4.8 stars from tens of thousands of ratings, and the reviews there thank it for making strong password management free, with the usual requests for a more intuitive interface and a local encrypted backup.
Trustpilot is harsher. The profile shows a 3.0 ‘Average’ score from a few hundred reviews, and recent ones are mostly unhappy. The complaints are about the business more than the encryption: the 2026 price rise, a cancellation that would not complete, slow replies to tickets, and browser extensions whose autofill stops working after updates. A smaller group dislikes the end of support for Windows 10. Positive reviews are short and loyal, from people who have used it for years without a failure. Bitwarden rarely responds on the platform, which leaves the negative reviews unanswered.
If not Bitwarden, then
1Password
Pick this if you want a more polished app and family recovery, and will pay several times more.
Proton Pass
Pick this if you want email aliases built into the password manager alongside Proton Mail.
KeePassXC
Pick this if you want an offline vault file with no cloud account at all.
Final call
Bitwarden remains the default answer to “which password manager should I use” for anyone who does not want to pay, and the paid tiers are still cheap after the 2026 increase. The code is open, the compliance paperwork is public and the refund window is honest. What you give up is hand-holding: there is no one to call, no way to recover a forgotten master password, and the apps feel utilitarian. Set up emergency access on day one. Verdict: BUY.
Read bitwarden.com personal and business pricing pages in October 2026 for plan prices, inclusions and trials.
Read Bitwarden help pages on cancelling a subscription, forgotten master passwords and server regions, and the terms of service, October 2026.
Read the Bitwarden compliance page and Secrets Manager product page in October 2026.
Read the Trustpilot profile for bitwarden.com and the Apple App Store listing in October 2026, noting themes rather than counting.
Read AlternativeTo’s January 2026 report on the Premium and Families price rise to confirm old and new prices.
Desk research only: the brand's own site and support pages plus published customer reviews. Nothing was purchased or tested by this site. Scored under Methodology v2.1.
Spotted an error or a changed policy? Tell the desk. Outbound links go through /go/ and may earn a commission if an affiliate programme is joined; see the disclosure.