Brand Verdicts Methodology

Coursera Verdict (2026)

University and big-tech courses with credentials employers recognise, sold through a maze of subscriptions whose refund rules and chatbot-first support drive a dismal Trustpilot score.

C+
6.7/10
Quality8.3
Value7.4
Service4.4
Policies5.1
Transparency5.6
CONSIDER

The scorecard

Why C+: Course content from Stanford, Google and Illinois is excellent, but overlapping subscriptions, short refund windows, no refunds on monthly plans and an unreachable support desk drag it down to a C+.

CriterionScore /10Weight
Product quality8.330%
Value7.425%
Customer service4.415%
Returns & policies5.115%
Transparency5.615%
Overall6.7derived

Overall is the weighted mean of the five rows, adjusted by a small slug-seeded offset so that brands never line up in a false staircase, and capped at 9.8. Full working on the Methodology page (v2.1).

Findings in brief

  1. Coursera Plus lists at $59 a month on the US page; single Professional Certificates and Specializations run $49 to $79 a month on their own subscriptions.
  2. Refund windows are short and vary by product: 14 days on Coursera Plus Annual, 7 days on one-time course purchases, none on monthly subscriptions, renewals or Guided Projects.
  3. Trustpilot shows 1.3 'Bad', with complaints about post-trial charges, refused refunds and chatbot-only support; the profile says Coursera has not replied to negative reviews.
  4. The content is strong where it counts: Andrew Ng’s Machine Learning course shows 4.9 stars from about 33,000 reviews, and Google Data Analytics 4.8.

Range overview

Coursera is a publicly listed US company (NYSE: COUR), founded in 2012 by Stanford professors Andrew Ng and Daphne Koller, that sells online courses built by universities and companies. The catalogue claims 10,000+ courses from 350+ partners. Products stack in layers: single courses, multi-course Specializations, Professional Certificates from employers such as Google, IBM and Meta, short Guided Projects, and full online degrees from universities including Illinois, the University of London and Georgetown. Most paid items sit on a monthly subscription; Coursera Plus bundles most of the catalogue under one fee, excluding degrees. Many courses can still be joined free, and financial aid is offered on many programmes. Coursera for Teams and Enterprise serve employers. It suits learners who want a credential with a recognisable name on it, and who will finish on schedule.

Product by product

6 items. Each chip is a per-product call and can differ from the brand verdict.

Coursera Plus CONSIDER

One subscription for most of the catalogue, including Professional Certificates and Specializations but not degrees. The US Coursera Plus page lists it at $59 a month with “Cancel anytime”, after a 7-day trial. An annual plan is also sold, and the Terms give it a 14-day refund period; monthly charges are not refunded at all. It pays off only if you work through more than one certificate in a stretch. One Trustpilot reviewer says three certificates were withheld until they bought Plus, which shows how the products push you toward it. Cancel from My Purchases before the trial ends.

StrengthCovers most certificates and Specializations under one fee
WeaknessMonthly charges are never refunded; renewal charges likewise
Check at Coursera

Google Data Analytics Professional Certificate BUY

The flagship career certificate: a series of courses from Google, rated 4.8 from about 183,000 reviews with close to 3.9 million enrolled, according to the page. Google estimates under six months at under 10 hours a week, and it is included with Coursera Plus or sold on its own monthly subscription after a 7-day trial. Financial aid is available. The page is inconsistent on its own facts (it says both nine courses and “over 8 courses”, and both 180 hours and per-course estimates that add up to less), so plan on the higher figure. The credential is entry-level; it opens doors, not senior roles.

StrengthA recognised employer name on an affordable, well-rated programme
WeaknessEntry-level only; time estimates on the page do not agree
Check at Coursera

Machine Learning Specialization BUY

Andrew Ng’s three-course programme from DeepLearning.AI and Stanford Online, the descendant of the course that made Coursera’s name. The first course shows 4.9 stars from about 33,000 reviews and more than 1.2 million enrolled. The page says “Enroll for free”, but the small print explains that full materials and the certificate need the paid certificate experience; only some courses offer a free “Full Course, No Certificate” route, so the old audit-everything habit no longer applies. Teaching quality is the reason to come to Coursera at all, and this is the best example of it.

StrengthFirst-rate teaching from a recognised name, at subscription prices
WeaknessFree access is narrower than the “Enroll for free” button implies
Check at Coursera

Online degrees CONSIDER

Accredited bachelor’s and master’s degrees run by partner universities, including the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign’s iMBA and Master of Computer Science, the University of London’s BSc Computer Science and Georgetown’s Liberal Studies BA. The degrees page gives no tuition figures; you must open each programme. Some use performance-based admission, where passing three pre-approved courses at 80% or higher earns a place. The Terms state that refund policies for degrees are set by the content provider, not Coursera, so read the university’s own terms before paying. Real credentials, but the purchase is with the university.

StrengthGenuine accredited degrees with flexible admission routes
WeaknessTuition hidden behind each programme page; university sets refund terms
Check at Coursera

Coursera for Teams CONSIDER

The small-business plan, priced on the Coursera Plus page at $399 a year per user for 12 months. It includes most of the catalogue, admin tools and reporting. The two Coursera pages disagree on its ceiling: the Plus page says it upskills up to 125 employees, while the business page asks “Upskilling up to 499 employees?”. Get the seat limit in writing before you sign. For a team that wants recognised certificates on Google Cloud, data or project management, it is credible; for creative or soft-skills training, cheaper libraries exist.

StrengthRecognised certificates for staff under one annual invoice
WeaknessPages contradict each other on the team size it covers
Check at Coursera

Guided Projects SKIP

Short, single-sitting exercises completed in a browser workspace with a split-screen video, aimed at a narrow tool skill such as a spreadsheet function or a basic Python task. They are sold individually as one-off purchases. The Terms are blunt: “Coursera does not offer refunds for Guided Projects or any other projects.” Since a single course or a free YouTube walkthrough covers most of the same ground, and the purchase is final the moment you pay, there is little reason to pay for one on its own.

StrengthQuick, browser-based practice with no software to install
WeaknessNever refundable, even unused
Check at Coursera

The small print, summarized

ShippingDigital only; web plus iOS and Android apps
ReturnsPlus Annual 14 days; one-time courses 7 days; no refunds on monthly plans or renewals
Warranty / guaranteeNot stated; EU and UK buyers have a 14-day withdrawal right
SupportLearner Help Center with chat assistant; reviewers report no phone line
Payment optionsNot fully stated on pages read; Apple and Google in-app purchases available
Subscription / cancellationAuto-renews for equal periods; cancel in My Purchases, access runs to period end

Values are short phrases taken from the brand's own pages at the time of the last update. "Not stated" means the desk could not find the policy in writing.

Caveats

  • Monthly subscriptions, renewals of annual plans and Guided Projects are not refunded at all. Cancelling a subscription Specialization stops future billing but does not issue a refund.
  • Trustpilot is overwhelmingly 1-star, with recent reviewers describing charges after a 7-day trial, monthly fees rising from $49 to $79, and refunds refused despite no use.
  • Support is reached through a help center and chat assistant; several reviewers say they could not reach a person, and Coursera has not replied to negative Trustpilot reviews.

Review themes

The Trustpilot profile reads 1.3 'Bad' at the time of reading, and the profile notes that Coursera has not replied to negative reviews. The complaints are mostly about billing rather than teaching: charges after a 7-day trial that the reviewer did not see coming, monthly fees that kept running after an attempted cancellation, and refunds refused even where logins showed no use. Others say support is a chatbot with no phone line, and one learner found a final exam was unavailable outside the US only after finishing the coursework.

The app stores tell a different story. The iOS app holds a 4.8 average across a very large number of ratings, with praise for clear course structure and easy resuming, and requests for better iPad layouts and an audio-only mode. The split is familiar: people like the courses and dislike the billing.

Compare against

edX

Pick this if you want similar university courses and prefer paying per course rather than subscribing.

LinkedIn Learning

Pick this if you want shorter business and software lessons bundled with LinkedIn Premium.

Udemy

Pick this if you want lifetime access to one practical course with frequent sales and no subscription.

The verdict

Coursera has the best content in online learning for anyone who wants a credential with a university or employer name on it. The business wrapped around that content is the problem: overlapping monthly subscriptions, refund windows of 7 or 14 days with whole categories excluded, and support that rarely puts you in front of a person. Start a single certificate, set a cancellation reminder for day six of the trial, and finish it quickly. Verdict: CONSIDER.

Brand verdict: CONSIDER 6.7/10, grade C+.

Check at Coursera

Desk notes

  • Read the Coursera Plus page, Coursera for Business page and degrees directory in October 2026 for prices, team limits and programmes.
  • Read Coursera’s Terms of Use and Refund and Cancellation Policy, effective January 2026, for refund windows, renewals and fee-change clauses.
  • Read the Google Data Analytics certificate and Machine Learning course pages in October 2026 for ratings, enrolment and free-access wording.
  • Read the Trustpilot profile for coursera.org, most recent reviews first, in October 2026, noting themes and the reply status.

Desk research only: the brand's own site and support pages plus published customer reviews. Nothing was purchased or tested by this site. Scored under Methodology v2.1.

Spotted an error or a changed policy? Tell the desk. Outbound links go through /go/ and may earn a commission if an affiliate programme is joined; see the disclosure.