A fast, well-reviewed VPN sold on steep introductory discounts; the refund guarantee covers first purchases only, and renewal prices are not shown upfront.
By Brand Verdicts research deskLast updated October 2026Security & privacy
B−
7.0/10
Quality8.5
Value7.1
Service7.3
Policies5.9
Transparency6.0
CONSIDER
Scorecard
Why B−: Strong apps, a large server network and good review scores, held back by pricing that hides the renewal rate and terms that refuse any refund once a subscription has auto-renewed.
Criterion
Score /10
Weight
Product quality
8.5
30%
Value
7.1
25%
Customer service
7.3
15%
Returns & policies
5.9
15%
Transparency
6.0
15%
Overall
7.0
derived
Overall is the weighted mean of the five rows, adjusted by a small slug-seeded offset so that brands never line up in a false staircase, and capped at 9.8. Full working on the Methodology page (v2.1).
Main findings
Basic costs $3.49 a month on the two-year plan but $14.99 on monthly billing; the long-term figures are introductory and cover the first 27 months.
The pricing page shows no renewal price. The terms say renewals charge “the price valid at the time of the automatic renewal” and cannot be refunded.
The 30-day money-back guarantee excludes purchases made through Apple’s App Store; Google Play and Amazon purchases follow those stores’ rules.
Trustpilot shows a 4.2 ‘Great’ from tens of thousands of reviews, but recent one-star reviews are dominated by renewal-refund disputes.
Every tier covers 10 devices at once, and the homepage claims more than 7,100 servers in over 225 locations.
Range overview
NordVPN is a consumer VPN from Nord Security, the group that also makes NordPass and NordLocker. The pricing page sells three tiers. Basic is the VPN alone with scam and phishing protection and dark web monitoring for up to five email addresses. Complete adds anti-malware, an ad and tracker blocker, a password manager and 1 TB of encrypted cloud storage. Prime adds US identity-theft insurance, credit monitoring and credit freeze help. Each tier is offered on monthly, one-year and two-year terms, with the longer terms heavily discounted and padded with three extra months. A dedicated IP address and the Incogni data-removal service are optional add-ons at checkout. The apps use NordVPN’s NordLynx protocol and run on 10 devices simultaneously.
Item verdicts
5 items. Each chip is a per-product call and can differ from the brand verdict.
Basic BUY
The VPN on its own, with scam and phishing protection and dark web monitoring for up to five email addresses. $3.49 a month on the two-year plan ($94.23 for the first 27 months), $4.99 a month on one year ($74.85 for 15 months) or $14.99 month to month, all in USD with sales tax possibly extra. Ten devices at once is generous. For most people who want a VPN for travel and public Wi-Fi this is the right tier. The weakness is the renewal: the pricing page does not say what the next term will cost, so diarize the date.
StrengthTen devices and the full server network at the lowest price
WeaknessRenewal price not stated on the pricing page
Marked “Most popular” and listed at $3.99 a month on two years ($107.73 for the first 27 months), $5.99 on one year or $19.99 monthly. Adds anti-malware and browsing protection, an ad and tracker blocker, protection for email, calls and messages, a password manager and 1 TB of encrypted cloud storage. The upgrade from Basic is only 50 cents a month on the two-year plan, which makes it tempting. It suits someone who wants one bill for VPN, passwords and storage. Anyone already paying for a password manager or cloud storage is buying duplicates.
StrengthPassword manager and 1 TB storage for little extra
WeaknessDuplicates tools many buyers already pay for elsewhere
$6.99 a month on two years ($188.73 for the first 27 months), $8.99 on one year or $29.99 monthly. Adds credit freeze assistance, identity theft insurance up to $1,000,000, cyber extortion insurance up to $100,000, one-bureau credit monitoring and a VantageScore 3.0 credit score. These are US-centric services and of little use elsewhere. Even for US buyers, the jump from Complete nearly doubles the long-term price for insurance whose claim terms are not on the pricing page. This is not financial advice, but compare it with a standalone credit monitoring service before paying.
StrengthBundles US identity insurance and credit monitoring
Every tier is available month to month: $14.99 for Basic, $19.99 for Complete and $29.99 for Prime. That is four times the two-year rate for Basic, and the gap is the main lever behind NordVPN’s discount marketing. The monthly option is still useful in one case: testing the service for a month on the devices and streaming services you actually use, since the 30-day guarantee only covers the first purchase. After that, the two-year plan is better value, provided you set a reminder before it renews at an unstated price.
StrengthLow commitment way to test streaming and speeds
WeaknessCosts about four times the two-year monthly rate
An optional add-on offered at checkout that gives you a fixed IP address no other NordVPN customer uses. It helps with services that block shared VPN addresses, such as some banking sites and work systems with IP allow-lists, and with fewer CAPTCHAs. The price was not displayed on the pricing page when read in October 2026, so the desk cannot quote it. The trade-off is privacy: a dedicated address is tied to you, which undoes part of the anonymity a shared VPN address provides. Buy it for a specific access problem, not as a general upgrade.
StrengthFixes access to sites that block shared VPN addresses
WeaknessPrice not shown upfront; a fixed IP reduces anonymity
30-day money-back guarantee on first purchase; renewals not refundable; no refunds on App Store purchases
Warranty / guarantee
Not stated
Support
24/7 chat starting with an AI assistant, plus email; no phone listed
Payment options
Cards and crypto; Google Play, Amazon and App Store purchases follow store rules
Subscription / cancellation
Auto-renews for the same term at the price valid at renewal
Values are short phrases taken from the brand's own pages at the time of the last update. "Not stated" means the desk could not find the policy in writing.
Things to know before you buy
Terms state that once a subscription auto-renews after the first period it cannot be refunded, and recent Trustpilot reviewers describe being refused refunds days after a renewal charge.
The pricing page lists introductory prices and “3 extra months” but no renewal price, so the true long-term cost is not visible before purchase.
Purchases through Apple’s App Store are explicitly excluded from NordVPN’s refunds, which surprises buyers who see the 30-day guarantee in the app.
Review themes
NordVPN has one of the larger review footprints in the category. Trustpilot shows a 4.2 ‘Great’ from more than fifty thousand reviews, and the company invites reviews and replies to nearly every negative one within a day. Positive reviews talk about fast, stable connections, well-designed apps and quick, specific help from support agents.
The one-star reviews tell a consistent story. Most are about money rather than the product: a subscription that auto-renewed, a refund request made after the 30-day window, and a refusal citing the terms. A smaller group complains that streaming services did not unblock or that the service stopped working after renewal. NordVPN’s replies restate that the guarantee covers initial purchases only. On Apple’s App Store the app holds 4.7 stars from hundreds of thousands of ratings, with complaints mostly about bugs after iOS updates and occasional slow connections.
If not NordVPN, then
Proton VPN
Pick this if you want a usable free tier and published renewal prices on the pricing page.
Surfshark
Pick this if you need unlimited simultaneous devices for a large household.
Mullvad
Pick this if you want one flat monthly price with no account email and no renewal surprises.
Verdict
As a VPN, NordVPN is easy to recommend: fast, well-designed, broadly compatible and well reviewed. The CONSIDER is about the commercial terms. Headline prices are introductory, the renewal price is missing from the pricing page, and the terms rule out refunds once a plan renews. Buy direct rather than through Apple, choose Basic unless you need the extras, and turn off auto-renew on day one so the renewal becomes a decision. Verdict: CONSIDER.
Read nordvpn.com homepage and pricing page via a reader proxy in October 2026; direct access returned a bot check.
Read the Nord Account terms of service in October 2026 for refund, App Store and auto-renewal clauses.
Read the NordVPN help center front page in October 2026 for support channels.
Read the Trustpilot profile for nordvpn.com and the Apple App Store listing in October 2026, noting themes rather than counting.
Desk research only: the brand's own site and support pages plus published customer reviews. Nothing was purchased or tested by this site. Scored under Methodology v2.1.
Spotted an error or a changed policy? Tell the desk. Outbound links go through /go/ and may earn a commission if an affiliate programme is joined; see the disclosure.