A capable subscription tracker with a usable free tier, sold alongside a bill negotiation service whose fees on projected savings generate most of the brand's complaints.
By Brand Verdicts research deskLast updated October 2026Finance tools
C+
6.5/10
Quality7.5
Value6.6
Service5.7
Policies5.1
Transparency5.8
CONSIDER
Score sheet
Why C+: Subscription detection and budgeting work well and the free tier is real. Fees charged on a year of projected savings, opaque pay-what-you-want pricing and no phone support for most members cost it heavily.
Criterion
Score /10
Weight
Product quality
7.5
30%
Value
6.6
25%
Customer service
5.7
15%
Returns & policies
5.1
15%
Transparency
5.8
15%
Overall
6.5
derived
Overall is the weighted mean of the five rows, adjusted by a small slug-seeded offset so that brands never line up in a false staircase, and capped at 9.8. Full working on the Methodology page (v2.1).
What the research shows
Until November 1, 2026, bill negotiation charged 35% to 60% of the first year's projected savings, taken in full after 48 hours unless you set up a payment plan.
From November 2, 2026, bill negotiation becomes exclusive to Premium+, a fixed $15 a month plus tax with no success fee, and automatic renegotiations stop.
Premium is pay-what-you-choose on a slider; the website does not publish the range; check the slider before you commit.
Support is chat and email only, weekdays 9am to 8pm Eastern; phone support is reserved for Premium+ members.
One-star reviews describe negotiation fees charged on savings that vanished within a month, and charges continuing after cancellation.
Range overview
Rocket Money, formerly Truebill, is a US personal finance app owned by Rocket Companies, the group behind Rocket Mortgage. The free app links bank and card accounts, finds recurring charges, tracks spending and shows a credit score. Premium, priced on a pay-what-you-choose slider, adds unlimited budgets, net worth tracking, a full Experian credit report, automated savings, data export, account sharing and a concierge that cancels subscriptions for you. Premium+, a fixed $15 a month, adds phone support, an AI agent called Rowan, a high-yield savings account through nbkc bank and, from November 2026, bill negotiation with no success fee. The homepage claims more than 10 million members. It suits people who suspect they are leaking money on forgotten subscriptions and want a dashboard more than a budgeting discipline.
Line-by-line verdicts
6 items. Each chip is a per-product call and can differ from the brand verdict.
Free plan BUY
Free to use with linked accounts. It detects recurring charges, shows upcoming bills, tracks spending by category with a limited number of budgets, and displays a credit score. For many people the subscription list alone is worth the ten minutes of setup: it surfaces the gym membership or streaming service nobody remembers signing up for. The limits are deliberate nudges toward Premium; reviewers complain that exporting transaction history and desktop access are paywalled. App Store reviewers also say bill-date predictions are often wrong for irregular paydays.
StrengthFinds forgotten subscriptions for free
WeaknessDesktop access and data export sit behind Premium
Pay-what-you-choose: you set a monthly price on a slider, and the help centre says only that you choose 'within the available range'. Rocket Money’s own pages do not publish that range, so check the slider before you commit. Features do not change with the price you pick. You get desktop access, unlimited budgets, net worth tracking, a FICO 2 Experian report, split transactions and rules, data export and account sharing. Cancelling means dragging the slider to $0 and confirming; it takes effect at the end of the cycle. Paying the minimum is a reasonable choice.
StrengthEvery feature unlocked at whatever price you set
WeaknessThe real price range is not published on the website
A fixed $15.00 a month plus tax. It includes everything in Premium plus phone support, the Rowan AI finance agent, access to a high-yield savings account through nbkc bank and, from November 2, 2026, bill negotiation with no success fee, one negotiation active at a time. For someone with several large bills worth negotiating, a few months of Premium+ costs less than one success fee under the old model. For everyone else, $180 a year is steep next to dedicated budgeting apps. The help article does not list the savings rate.
StrengthFlat price replaces the percentage success fee
WeaknessPhone support is held back for the top tier
Under the model running until November 1, 2026, Rocket Money's team calls providers such as cable and phone companies to lower a bill and charges 35% to 60% of the first year's projected savings. The fee is taken in full 48 hours after success unless you set up weekly or monthly instalments for up to 12 months. The problem is that 'projected' does the heavy lifting: reviewers describe promotional discounts lapsing after a month while the 12-month fee stood, and the terms say fees are non-refundable unless Rocket Money made an error. Negotiating yourself costs nothing.
StrengthSomeone else spends time on hold with the provider
WeaknessFee based on a year of savings that may not last
A Premium feature: pick a recurring charge in the app and Rocket Money's concierge contacts the merchant to cancel it, sometimes recovering a refund. It is most useful for services with deliberately awkward cancellation flows. You are handing a third party authority to act on your accounts, and timing is outside your control, so for anything easy to cancel yourself it adds little. The irony noted in several one-star reviews is that cancelling Rocket Money itself was the hard part, with charges reported after members believed they had left.
StrengthHandles merchants with hostile cancellation flows
WeaknessSlower than cancelling simple subscriptions yourself
Premium includes automated savings that move money from your checking account into goals, either on a schedule or by Rocket Money's Smart Savings algorithm. The help centre says those funds sit in a non-interest-bearing custodial account at an FDIC-insured bank, and the terms say only the separate high-yield account, offered with Premium+, earns interest. Money saved here earns nothing. Some one-star reviewers also describe withdrawals delayed by extra identity checks. A high-yield savings account at your own bank, with an automatic transfer, does the same job and pays interest.
Digital only; iOS, Android and web (web is Premium only)
Returns
No refund policy published for Premium; negotiation fees non-refundable except on error
Warranty / guarantee
Not a bank; savings held by nbkc bank, Member FDIC
Support
Chat and email, weekdays 9am to 8pm ET; phone only for Premium+
Payment options
Card on file or ACH debit; App Store billing for in-app purchases
Subscription / cancellation
Monthly; cancel by moving slider to $0, effective at cycle end
Values are short phrases taken from the brand's own pages at the time of the last update. "Not stated" means the desk could not find the policy in writing.
Red flags
Negotiation fees under the pre-November 2026 model are calculated on 12 months of projected savings and are non-refundable, even when reviewers say the lower rate lasted a single month.
Several one-star reviewers report being charged after cancelling Premium, or ACH debits they did not recognise; the terms authorise Rocket Money to set debit amounts.
The pay-what-you-choose price range for Premium is not stated on the website or help centre, which makes it hard to compare before you sign up.
What customers say
Trustpilot shows a 'Great' 3.9 from about 4,200 reviews, and the US App Store averages 4.5 from roughly 400,000 ratings. The positive reviews are about subscriptions found and cancelled, and support agents named for being patient.
The one-star reviews are sharply specific. A recurring complaint is bill negotiation: one reviewer says a satellite radio bill went up after a 'successful' negotiation yet a fee was still charged, another says a fee of nearly $300 came from savings of about $4 a month. Others report charges after cancelling, debits they did not authorise, refunds refused, and support that routes to an AI assistant or a templated email. Rocket Money replies to nearly every negative review, but the replies tend to be near-identical and point to an email address.
If not Rocket Money, then
YNAB
Pick this if you want a proper budgeting method rather than a dashboard, and will pay for it.
Monarch Money
Pick this if you want a polished tracker with investments and shared household views and no negotiation upsells.
Quicken Simplifi
Pick this if you want a low-cost spending plan app with a 30-day money-back guarantee.
Final call
Use the free tier to find forgotten subscriptions; it does that well. Premium is fine at the bottom of the slider. Be wary of the money-saving services: the old negotiation fee charged on a year of projected savings explains most of the anger in reviews, and Premium+ only makes sense with several big bills to fight. Check your bank statement after cancelling. This is a review of the app, not financial advice. Verdict: CONSIDER.
Read rocketmoney.com homepage and the terms of service effective October 2, 2026, in October 2026.
Read Rocket Money help centre articles on Premium, Premium+, cancellation, contact options and bill negotiation fees in October 2026.
Read the help article announcing bill negotiation's move to Premium+ from November 2, 2026.
Read Trustpilot reviews for rocketmoney.com, overview and one-star filter, in October 2026.
Read the US App Store listing, including in-app purchase prices and visible reviews, in October 2026.
Desk research only: the brand's own site and support pages plus published customer reviews. Nothing was purchased or tested by this site. Scored under Methodology v2.1.
Spotted an error or a changed policy? Tell the desk. Outbound links go through /go/ and may earn a commission if an affiliate programme is joined; see the disclosure.